AWAKENING - The Cycle of Hope A large scale choral work by composer Paul Carr

"Awakening" is a spiritual choral work, whose setting is based at Stonehenge near Salisbury. The work, composed by Paul Carr, well known for other choral and classical works has been adopted by the Bournemouth Symphony Chorus and Salisbury Musical Society. Based upon a set of 16 spiritual poems by Stephen Feltham, Awakening portrays the cycle of hope experienced by humanity as it progresses through the celestial cycle exhibited by the equinoxes and solstices.

Choral work has the capability to take folk to a place within themselves that is far greater than themselves. At times of world stress, pandemic and financial hardship people need a lift in their spirits. Give a person a meal and you sustain them for 24 hours. Give them an emotional and spiritual experience and it will carry them for months. Whilst there is a great need for physical help there is a great imbalance within a person if their emotional and spiritual needs are not nurtured. The choral work "Awakening" aims to give folk an uplift that will carry them through the hardships of today.

Premiere scheduled performance will be by the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and Chorus and the Bournemouth Youth Chorus  at The Lighthouse Poole on 9thJune 2024 featuring Sam Furness tenor, and Salisbury Cathedral on 22nd June 2024 featuring John Findon, tenor, together with Salisbury Musical Society. 

Read about Paul Carr's inspiration for his choral work here

Other important links:

    Bournemouth Symphony Chorus

    Salisbury Musical Society

    Poole Lighthouse

    Salisbury Cathedral

The score for Awakening is now available for purchase from Goodmusic Publishing and may be purchased here

Musical score